Sales Analytics & Statistics using Python: An Introduction

Appreciating the basic of statistics coupled with the capacity being offered to businesses by data science is fundamental to achieving sale growth aspiration

Posted by baroude ntsiba on October 02, 2017

As an enthusiastic data scientist, I understand the need for companies to optimise their sales operations. Therefore, appreciating the basic of statistics coupled with the capacity being offered to businesses by data science is fundamental to achieving sale growth aspiration across various industry sectors including retail and marketing

In the following article, I will provide you with basic understanding on how at typical data science problem can be tackled using data science.

The dataset used in this article can be sourced at Tableau website and located here.

The software utilise for this mini project are:

Let’s start by looking at the dataset statistics. This statistics provide us with the data shape and some basic understanding of the data at hand

Here is how this result can be interpreted.

Unit price
    • The average price for a product is $ 89
    • The most expensive product cost $ 6783
    • The cheapest item cost $ 0.99
      Shipping
    • The shipping cost range from $ 0.49 to $ 164
    • The average shipping cost is $ 12
      Sales
    • The sales range between $ 2.24 and $ 80961
    • The average price per sale is $ 1776

Looking at these figures, one can start to make assumptions on the probability and amount of potential expensive business areas that need to be addressed.

Particularly, in regard to the shipping mode.

Shipping mode

let's find out how many different type of shipping mode were used?

We can see that there are three types of shipping mode and that regular air is the company’s preferred shipping mode as shown above. We can also identify the remaining two shipping mode. This operation can be achieve using the describe function ( ).